真・健身

我雖然有健身會籍,卻發現健身可以非常沉悶,特別是要經常重複健身動作或者不正確運用健身器械者更甚。而如果健身時手提電話在旁,自己就更不能集中精神,你有同樣感受嗎?於是,我開始花更多時間練習瑜伽,希望為自己帶來新動力及集中保持運動量。

我喜歡美食佳餚及紅酒,但亦注意健康飲食。以前我沒有特別花太多時間注意身型,認為不要超重就可以,畢竟我明白自己的生活模式不會塑造好身形。每一年,我的新年願望都是練就腹肌,而我卻通常在新年除夕夜後喝得太多香檳而把願望忘記得一乾二淨。不久,我開始接受自己只會擁有普通身形是沒有問題的這個概念,原因是我不再年輕,而且不用脫掉上衣夜蒲!

終極夢想
事實上,沒有太多男士學習瑜伽的。我到中環上瑜伽班的路上,常常看見穿上 Ultimate Performance T 恤類似小鮮肉的健身教練,便想到那應該是一家時興的 Cross Fit 健身中心。健身中心和我的瑜伽中心在同一大廈,朋友邀請我到樓上那健身中心參觀一下(現已遷到新址),心想為何不讓眼睛看看冰淇淋?

到健身中心一看,第一個感覺是沒有我平時去的健身中心的各式各樣華麗健身器械,卻發現每個人都在努力操練。嘩!是地獄式的重力訓練,主要是 Free Weight 而較少用阻力器材。我看見牆上貼滿顧客訓練前後的相片,一位教練告訴我他們可以在三個月內改變我的身形,我聽起來半信半疑。他們說我基本上只需一星期訓練三次,每次一小時,我便可以擁有像牆上圖片的健美身型,真有可能嗎?

面對現實
考慮了數天,我決定嘗試一下他們的訓練計劃。心想三個月的時間,一星期只需三小時,時間好像花不了太多,於是,我和私人教練 Jeremy 見面,討論我的飲食習慣,然後他用脂肪鉗量度我體脂比例。他說我腰間脂肪積聚多年,非常結實,難以量度。最後,他說要拍攝一張我沒有穿上衣的照片,我唯有面對現實改變自己。我告訴教練我的目標是減去腰間及身體多餘脂肪,並擁有健康身型,他於是答應開展我的減肥計劃。

aIMG_0009

飲食
訓練開始,我一天要吃五餐,而教練限制我每日吸收的卡路里及營養份量。他說,每個人的身體需求不同,諮詢專業意見是必須的。觀乎整個飲食計劃,我學習到如何選擇正確食物,認識到很多公司標榜自己產品為健康食品卻是高卡路里且絕對對減肥沒有幫助。最重要的是,我要戒吃碳水化合物和戒喝酒精飲品,也要避免吃加工食品,果汁亦因糖份高而可免則免。

教練為我寫了我可以吃的食物清單,而有賴現代科技,透過下載後的 My Fitness Pal app ,我可以貫徹教練的訓示而計算食物的卡路里及營養含量,令減肥計劃變得更容易。我不需要擔心肚餓,原因是教練會隨個人目標改變餐單,我每兩星期可以到任何餐廳吃任何一款料理,所以我和我另一半依然活得開心!

減肥餐單對我來說唯一的問題是每天要吃五餐,食物變得沉悶,唯有到網上尋找不同的食譜和自己堅持創新。為求達到目標,我不惜盡力堅持。

訓練
平時到普通的健身室,有些私人教練總為客人拉筋,同時談天說地,好像沒有意義,而且浪費時間。心想,為什麼只為輕而易舉的拉筋動作而付錢給私人教練?Ultimate Performance 絕對不是令你放鬆心神的地方。原以為第一課訓練應該不會太辛苦吧,卻是全程重力訓練,最後一項更要拉上重力雪橇。訓練完成後,我要坐下休息十分鐘才有體力支撐自己離開健身室,真的非常辛苦。最初數星期,我往健身途中都不停自問:「又要被折磨,為什麼我要這樣做呢?」訓練比我想像的艱難得多,每一課都把我所有體力消耗掉,我怎樣可以渡過三個月呢?最後,我依然把心一橫,矢志堅持到底!

三星期後,教練拍了我的上半身照片,我們都注意到我的身型有所變化。我腰間的脂肪開始軟化,脂肪比例亦開始下降。我很高興看到有一些進展,同時亦已習慣一星期三次的訓練,所以我有更大動力,更享受訓練,對訓練更加着迷!

教練 Jeremy 非常專業和有耐性,總會挑戰我的體能極限,但同時又幫助我建立信心。每一次訓練,他都寸步不離,精確地教我訓練的技巧,確保我每個姿勢都正確。每隔幾星期,他便會改變我的訓練計劃,從而鍛鍊我不同的肌肉群組。我覺得與教練建立良好關係真的非常重要,原因是他/她必須知道你的身體和心理,才能幫助你達到目標。

IMG_2519訓練前後

結果
我竟然因訓練而上癮,於是決定延長訓練多一個月。四個月後,我的體重下降了12公斤,身體脂肪百分比從28%下降到16%,減肥後感覺也年輕不少,總比去泰國或韓國整容好多了。

我有很多朋友問我完成訓練後有什麼計劃? 其實,整個過程不只是減肥,我也學懂處理食物及管理好我的身體,改變自我的生活模式,把在 Ultimate Performance 學到的,於日後自行訓練。最重要的是,我會推動自己挑戰極限!我深信今天的目標得來不易,是很辛苦且非常辛苦,只有對自己作出很大的承諾及決心,才可以順利完成。雖然我已經41歲,然而改變自己的生活是永遠不會遲的。感謝我的教練Jeremy及Ultimate Performance這四個月為我締造一個改變我人生的旅程。如你有任何疑問可電郵至  alex.lamb@upfitness.com

 13051746_1103971952994130_8301364965456864606_n

中環德輔道中127-131號麒麟貿易中心

銅鑼灣登龍1-29號金朝陽中心2期Midtown11樓

聯繫電話:27989000
www.upfitness.com.hk

文字: Joe Lam (點心創辦人)
攝影: Nic and Bex Gaunt
www.nicgaunt.com

Post Your Thoughts

UP and Beyond – Body Training

I have a gym membership but found lately that working out can become quite boring; especially if you get stuck in a routine and don’t know how to use half of the gear correctly. I also realised I wasn’t particularly focused as most of my time was spent glued to my iPhone. Sound familiar? I started spending more time in the yoga studio which provided me with renewed motivation to keep active.

I do enjoy good food and wines, but THOUGHT that overall I ate healthily.  I didn’t pay too much attention to my body shape other than to make sure I wasn’t very overweight. I knew my lifestyle wasn’t going to help me have a HOT body. But still… “Getting a six-pack” was one of my New Year resolutions every year. Of course, I would forget about it after drinking too much champagne on New Year’s Eve. I kind of accepted that it was ok to have an average body. Besides, I am not young anymore and I don’t have to take off my top when I go clubbing in Hong Kong!

ULTIMATE DREAM
Not many guys do yoga and I kept seeing these hot muscular guys wearing Ultimate Performance tee shirts on my way to yoga classes in Central. I assumed, incorrectly, that it was another crossfit hype gym.  As it was in the same building as my yoga studio (though it has since moved), a friend invited me to check it out.  Why not go up for some eye candy?

My first reaction to the gym was that it was not packed with fancy machines like my usual gym.  Then I noticed everyone was working out so hard. Wow! This was hardcore weight training, mainly “free weight” workouts instead of using high-tech gym resistance machines.  I saw some ‘before and after’ training photos on the wall. The staff told me they could change my body in three months. It sounded too good to be true.  Basically, I would only have to workout three hours a week and I could get a killer body like those photos on the wall. Is it even possible?

REALITY CHECK
After thinking it over for a few days, I decided I would try it out. It was only for three months anyway – and best of all, only 3 hours a week – which really isn’t a big time commitment. I met my personal trainer Jeremy for my first session and he discussed my diet and used body fat calipers to measure my body fat. This turned out to be quite tricky as the fat deposits around my love handles had hardened (a sign it had been there for a long time!) making it difficult to measure my body fat percentage. He took my topless photo and I faced up to the reality – it was finally time to make a change.  I told my trainer that my goals were to lose my love handles and have a lean, fit body.

aIMG_0009

DIET
From the beginning of the training programme, I had a diet that was tailored for me and my body size, eating five meals and limiting my calorie intake everyday. I was taking a few supplements for my nutrients. Others may have a higher or lower target as it depends on your body so it’s better to get professional advice from Ultimate Performance instead of following my specific diet.

The diet program is mainly about learning how to eat right. So many food companies label their products as HEALTH products but these might contain high calories and not benefit weight loss plans. Most important was that I was to have NO CARBS and NO ALCOHOL, avoid processed foods and no more fresh pressed juices which have a high sugar content.

My trainer helpfully gave me a list of the foods I could eat and thanks to technology, I used the app “My Fitness Pal” to calculate my calories and nutrients for every meal, weighing each portion on food scales to make sure I had the right amount of food before I cooked it. It made my life much easier.  The trainer will adjust your diet plan as needed and you don’t have to worry about not having enough food as I was never hungry. I was also allowed one cheat meal every two weeks, which helped to keep my partner happy! The only problem was that I soon became bored of eating five meals a day. My tip is to go online and find different recipes and be creative. It did help me enjoy my diet meals more. I did try my best to stick with my diet plan.

TRAINING
When I go to my usual gym, I often see personal trainers chitchatting with their client while stretching which seems a pointless waste of time – why spend money on a personal trainer for a relaxing stretch? Ultimate Performance is definitely not a place to relax. I thought my trainer would go easy on me in my first training session, but it was straight up free weight training and he loaded up the weighted sled workout at the end of the session!  I had to sit down for ten minutes to rest before I left the gym. It was tough! For the first few weeks, while I was on my way to Ultimate Performance, I couldn’t help but think to myself, “Shit! I am going to get tortured again. Why I am doing it?” The training was much harder than I thought possible. I totally burned out every session. How could I pull it off for the next three months?  I kept my head up and carried on.

My trainer took a topless photo of me on week three. We both noticed my body shape had changed. My body fat was dropping down as it softened and I was happy to see some early progress. By this point, I was also getting used to my workout routine and feeling more energetic. I started enjoying my workouts a lot more and became obsessed with it. I was pushing myself to work harder and harder. My trainer Jeremy was very professional and patient. He was always pushing me and helped to build up my confidence that I could do it. He taught me the precise workout techniques to make sure I did every set correctly. He was with me every step and changed my workout program every few weeks to work on different muscle groups. It found it very important to build a good relationship with your trainer. He/She needs to know your physical and mental health to help you to achieve your goals.

IMG_2519Before & After

Result
The training was so addictive. I made the decision to add one extra month to my programme. In all, I have lost 12kg and my body fat percentage went from 28% down to 16% in four months. Best of all, I look like I’ve stepped back in time – loosing fat does make you look a lot younger and is far better than a trip to Thailand or Korea for nip and tuck!

I have had many friends asking me what is next (with the “you are going to put the weight back on” look on their face). The whole process was not just about weight loss, it was also learning about food and my body. I have changed my lifestyle and now train on my own from what I have learned from Ultimate Performance. One of the most important things that I learned was how to push my training boundaries and challenge myself. It was not an easy task. It was hard… very hard! It takes a lot of commitment and determination. I am 41 years old. It’s never too late to change of your life. I am happy to see my result today. Thank you to my trainer Jeremy and Ultimate Performance for this life-changing journey. Email alex.lamb@upfitness.com if you any questions about Ultimate Performance.

13051746_1103971952994130_8301364965456864606_n
Ultimate Performance Personal Training Team

Unicorn Trade Centre, 127-131 Des Voeux Road Central, Central

11th Floor Midtown Plaza II 1-29 Tang Lung Street Causeway Bay

Tel: 2798 9000
www.upfitness.com.hk

– Words by Joe Lam (Dim Sum Founder)
– Photo by Nic and Bex
www.nicgaunt.com

Post Your Thoughts