2017 五大同志電影

今年我需要看很多同志電影,有些精彩絶倫,有些不過不失。在云云上映的特級猛片之中要精挑五部電影實在比登天還要難。差點上榜的電影例如有︰由愛瑪史東化身女子網球排名第一 “世界波后” 比利珍金的傳記片《男女單打戰》和關於神奇女俠作者和他的妻子以及同時是他倆情人的女學生之間三角交纏的愛慾關係的《佔‧誘神奇女俠》。這個龍虎榜的電影均來自法國、南非,甚至香港。我希望你會有機會欣賞這是真正出色的同志電影作品。

1. 以你的名字呼喚我 (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
意大利導演 Luca Guadagnino 改編自美國作家 Andre Aciman 同名暢銷小說《以你的名字呼喚我》是他的一部出色的作品。Guadagnino 在 1990 年亦執導過《私情。狂》。這苦樂參半的故事發生在 90 年代,訴說着一名美國的大學研究生Oliver 到意大利協助17歲少年 Elio 的父親整理學術論文時的經歷。那年夏天 Elio 還在探索他的性傾向,並同時和一個法國女孩曖昧不清。同時,他又對 Oliver 產生好感並向其表白。當感情發展之際,Oliver 在夏天之後便要離開這個小鎮。

主角毫不費吹灰之力便能帶領觀眾投入他們的感情,然而他們卻表現得很克制。你很快就會被兩位主角吸引,並緊隨他們的關係到故事結束。這部電影就像喚回你初戀的回憶。藝術片發燒友一定會為這用 35mm 菲林拍攝的電影著迷。這部電影鏡頭下充滿浪漫氛圍,觀看電影時簡直可以讓人感受到這小鎮所散發出的氣息。

這部得奬電影將於2018年3月1日在香港上映。

2. 心動120 (120 BEATS PER MINUTE)
今年没有一部電影比得上《心動120>>的能量和詩意。這套由羅賓金比路編劇及導演的法國電影把觀眾置身於80年代末期法國愛滋病激進組織 ACT UP 當中。根據金比路在組織的自身經驗,我們看到兩位主角如何用激進手法在通往同志遊行會議的牆上潑濺假血迫使藥廠正視問題以及從中所展出來的愛情故事。當一主角經歷心痛或疾病或憤怒時,我們感同身受。這部電影透過高超的剪接技巧展現出抗議遊行宣洩式的混亂,以及組織成員間的友誼和默契。《心動120》是一部所有同志都應該認識的歷史電影。

這部得奬電影將於2018年1月4日在香港上映。

3. 當他們認真編織時 (CLOSE-KNIT)
日本今年以既巧妙地舒發情感,而又不喧鬧對抗的跨性別人士電影《當他們認真編織時》,為我們帶來驚喜。這個國家至今從未實在地拍攝過以跨性別人士作題材的電影,這部戲卻一鳴驚人。在美國生活了一陣子後,導演荻上直子回流日本,發現日本影壇欠缺了關於跨性別人士的故事。這部電影圍繞因為母親和男友去旅行而到舅父家暫住的11歲女孩小友。在舅父家中,還住着舅父的女朋友,溫柔賢淑的跨性者凜子。他們在一起組織了一個非典型而又充滿愛的家庭,並同面對旁人的冷嘲熱諷。這是一部每一幕都笑中有淚,令你百感交集的電影。

4. 割愛 (THE WOUND)
被國王明令禁止的電影導演没有多少個,而首次擔任導演並編導《割愛》的 John Trengove,恰巧是其中一個。今年入圍奧斯卡最佳外語電影的南非作品,透過南非部落的傳統習俗探討男子氣慨和性傾向的關係。在族中男子到達某一個歲數,便會被帶到簡陋小屋進行割禮,並由一位看護者照顧數週預備成年。在這個禮儀中,我們看到兩位看護者之間被壓抑的同志情慾,當中更避開人群目光躲到樹林中進行性愛。這部電影揭示超男性主義所帶來的不良效果及在社會上的影響,有時慘不忍睹,但充滿回響,是今年其中一部優秀之作。

5. 暗房夜空 (LOSING SIGHT OF A LONGED PLACE)
在所有今年上映的電影當中,有一部短片可謂鶴立雞群,必須登上龍虎榜。《暗房夜空》,一部香港製造的7分鐘的微動畫電影,紀錄一位香港年輕同志 Adam 一直爭取自己與身邉人的權益,卻陷入與父親關係隔閡的爭扎之中。故事一開始,他便將自己的故事和香港的鬥爭扯上關係。雖然這部戲只得七分鐘,但已經比很多今年出爐的大片更有說服力。三位導演首次執導便榮獲金馬獎殊榮,實至名歸。如果你有機會看這部電影,你一定不會吝嗇你的七分鐘。

文字:Joe Lam, 翻譯:QQ

Post Your Thoughts

TOP 5 LGBT FILMS OF 2017

I got to watch a lot of LGBT films this year, some were fantastic and some, well not so much. Of the really great films that came out, it was tough to whittle it down to just five.   There were some films that almost made the list, like THE BATTLE OF SEXES, the biopic about tennis legend Billie Jean King starring Emma Stone, and the film PROFESSOR MARSTON AND THE WONDER WOMEN, a film about the creator of wonder women and the relationship with his wife and their female lover.  The list includes films from France, South Africa and even Hong Kong. I hope you get the chance to watch these films that truly are some of the greats in LGBT cinema.

1. CALL ME BY YOUR NAME
Italian director, Luca Guadagnino adopted American writer Andre Aciman’s novel, Call Me By Your Name for his wonderful feature film. Guadagnino also directed I AM LOVE in 2009. The bittersweet story is set in the 90’s and tells the story of Oliver, an American who comes to Italy to be an assistant for 17-year-old Elio’s dad. Elio is still exploring his sexuality that summer, fooling around with a French Girl for a time. He also has feelings for Oliver soon tells him about his feelings. The relationship is growing but Oliver has to leave the small town after the summer.\

The leader actors could easily fall into an over-the-top acting style from this new relationship but they are very in control. You start falling for these two characters and championing for their relationship to last. The film brings back memories of your first puppy love. Arthouse fans will love this film being shot in 35mm, it makes the film more romantic. It almost feels like you can smell the air from the little town while you are watching the film.

The awarded winning film will be released in Hong Kong on 1st March 2018.

2. 120 BPM
No film this year can match the energy and poeticness of 120 BPM.  The French film directed and written by Robin Campillo, places the audience right at the heart of the French AIDS activist group ACT UP in the late 80’s.  Based on Campillo’s own experiences in the group, we see everything from a love story between two of the characters going to pharmaceutical companies and splattering fake blood on their walls to meetings about pride parades.   We feel when a character is going through heartache or sickness or anger.  With superb editing, it shows the cathartic chaoticness of the protest but also the gentleness of the friendships and bonds these members have.  120 BPM is that film every LGBT person should see to know the history. even Hong Kong. I hope you get the chance to watch these films that truly are some of the greats in LGBT cinema.

The awarded winning film will be released in Hong Kong in 4th January 2018.

3. CLOSE-KNIT
Japan surprised us this year with the subtle yet emotional and non-confrontational trans film called CLOSE-KNIT.  The country has never really made a film about trans issues until now and it is close to perfect.  Naoko Ogigami, after living in the USA for a bit, came back to Japan and noticed the invisibility of transgender stories in the Japanese cinema.  The film revolves around Tomo, an 11-year-old girl, who goes to live with her uncle after her mother leaves with a boyfriend on a trip.  He has a girlfriend, the gentle and soft-spoken Rinko who is transgengered.  Together, they form an unconventional but loving and warm family who has to deal with prejudice from the people around them.  It is a film that will overfill you with emotion, both happiness and sadness, in almost every scene.

4. THE WOUND
Not many directors can say that they have had their film banned by a king but John Trengrove, first time director who wrote and directed THE WOUND, can.  South Africa’s entry for best foreign language film at the Oscars this year, this is a film that explores masculinity and sexuality in the context of cultural traditions with a tribe in South Africa.  When boys come of age in this tribe, they are taken to huts and circumcised and taken care of by a watcher for weeks while learning about manhood.  During this ritual, we see repressed homosexuality come to light between two of the watchers, who go off in the woods to have sex in secret.  It is a film that shows the repercussions of Hypermasculinity and the effect it can have on a society.  At times hard to watch, but is so impactful and one of the top films of the year.

5. LOSING SIGHT OF A LONGED PLACE 
Out of all the films that were released this year, one short film really stood out and deserves to be on this list.  LOSING SIGHT OF A LONGED PLACE, a short 7-minute animated film from Hong Kong that is as beautiful as it is poetic, is about a gay man named Adam who is fighting for gay rights in Hong Kong and also struggling in his relationship with his father.  He begins to relate his story to the struggles of Hong Kong.  Even though it is only seven minutes, it is more powerful than most feature films that came out this year.  The three first time directors went on to win the Golden Horse Award for Best Animated Short and deservedly so.  If you get the chance to watch this film, it is worth seven minutes of your time.

Words by Joe Lam

 

 

 

Post Your Thoughts