《香港同志影展2018》的十大電影推介

又一年過去,又一屆《香港同志影展》。踏入第29個年頭的影展今年於9月8日至22日舉行,一如既往為觀眾帶來全世界其中最新最好看的LGBT電影,當中包括來自香港、南韓、菲律賓、日本、法國、德國和土耳其的劇情片和短片。放映電影以外,當然還少不了歌舞表演、派對,還有特地邀請印度、緬甸和巴基斯坦的影展總監來港舉行的講座。

今年的電影同樣經過精心挑選,因此我們大力推薦你欣賞每一部傑作。假如你時間有限,以下我們所推介的電影就不容錯過了:

今年兩部開幕電影分別是《喜歡你、愛上你、逃離你》和《傷愛的日子》。《喜歡你、愛上你、逃離你》是一部講述男學生與39歲男作家一段情的法國電影,感人肺腑的劇情使之獲提名今年康城影展的金棕櫚獎和酷兒金棕櫚獎,並於康城首映後陸續在不同的電影節上映。女同志電影《傷愛的日子》則由我們其中最愛的女演員愛倫比芝擔演,故事講述死囚的女兒竟然與警察的女兒雙雙墮入愛河,極具張力的劇情也是你今年其中一部不得不看的佳作。

閉幕電影《夢女芭蕾》講述的是15歲術前跨女決心成為女芭蕾舞蹈員的故事,當中按捺不住要化成女兒身的那種心理掙扎與自我認同實在是劇情的焦點,無怪飾演女主角的Victor Polster能夠摘下康城影展「一種關注」單元最佳演員獎

印度電影《夜幕低垂》拍攝於印度高等法院推翻反同性性交法例之前,講述年輕男主角如何向其極度保守的母親出櫃及母親如何面對。電影的導演與演員均會出席我們的影展,讓大家對現今印度的LGBT社會有更深入的了解。

《火辣狂舞》則令我們想起紀錄片《Paris is Burning》和 2016閉幕電影《琪琪夜總會》。這部三藩市同志影展最佳紀錄片和洛杉磯 OUTFEST 同志影展傑出紀錄片評審大獎得主講述一群男同志如何發展地下舞蹈運動、他們自己的夢想與家庭。

 

由已故默劇大師差里卓別靈孫女奧娜和其親生母親主演的《棲身之鎖》是一部探討愛情以至愛情之於家庭的劇情喜劇:兩名在倫敦運河上船屋居住的女主角本來無拘無束,一天其中一個突然說要小孩,突然造訪的男友人更酒後戲說能借精生子,結局如何且讓你們發掘。

 

今年要欣賞的另一部紀錄片是《敘利亞同志先生》。故事講述兩名敘利亞同志難民如何擺脫回教社會的桎梏,實現他們在選美展示其最好一面的夢想。

《當大叔遇上小鮮肉》是今年影展內兩部韓國劇情長片的其中之一。電影講述舞台演員和小鮮肉偶像聯手參演舞台劇。二人逐漸戲假情真,是否假戲真做呢?

今年柏林影展上獲得泰迪熊獎的《塗色》是一部巴西劇情片,講述男主角會把身上塗上霓虹色彩,然後在同志視頻聊天網站表演,讓萬千網民透過鏡頭窺探他赤身舞動。網路給予他的讚嘆,可以修補寂寞的靈魂嗎?

《香港同志影展》另有五個短片單元共放映31部短片:第三屆「亞太同志電影節聯盟短片」節目展示了來自亞太地區包括湯加、馬來西亞、韓國和中國的短片;「法式男男短片」則名副其實展示法國男同志式情慾,當中包括來自法國名導Yann Gonzalez的最新短片《迷情島》。

唔講太多,戲院見啦!

 

Post Your Thoughts

Top 10 at Hong Kong Lesbian & Gay Film Festival 2018

Another year, another Hong Kong Lesbian and Gay Film Festival.  The Festival, which runs from September 8-22, is now in it’s 29th year and it continues its tradition of showing some of the most recent LGBT feature and short films from around the world.  There are films from Hong Kong, South Korea, the Philippines, Japan, France, Germany, Turkey and many other countries. Not only will the festival be showing films, talks with film festival directors from India, Myanmar and Pakistan.
We highly recommend you watch every single one of the films that are screening at the festival this year but if you cannot do that, we recommend you watch the following films.

The two opening films this year are SORRY ANGEL and THE DAYS OF MERCY.  The French film SORRY ANGEL, directed by Christophe Honoré, was nominated for the for the Palme d’Or and the Queer Palm at this year’s Cannes Film Festival.  The film, about a student having a love affair with a 39-year old writer, has been screening at many other LGBT film festivals around the world- since it premiered at Cannes.  THE DAYS OF MERCY, the girl opening film, stars one of our favorite actresses, Ellen Page. The two women in the film, one who is the daughter of a man on death row and the other is on the other side of the death penalty argument, fall in love.

A pre-op 15-year-old transgender girl Lara is determined to be a ballerina in the closing film GIRL. The film is about Lara’s psychological struggle of self-acceptance as she waits impatiently for her body to be the girl she’s always wanted to be.  It won many awards including Un Certain Regard Prize for Best Performance for the lead actor Victor Polster who plays Lara.

EVENING SHADOWS comes to the festival from India and the director and some of the actors will be in attendance.  The film is set on the eve of the Supreme Court’s reversal of the anti-sodomy laws in the country and is about a young man coming out to his very conservative mother and her coping with him coming out.

WHEN THE BEAT DROPS reminds us of PARIS IS BURNING and KIKI.  The documentary, which won the best doc at both Frameline Festival and OUTFEST, tells the story of the underground dance movement called “bucking” and how this group gay men form their own family through this dance.

ANCHOR AND HOPE, starring Oona Chaplin (granddaughter of Charlie Chaplin) and her real life mother Geraldine Chaplin, is a dramedy that explores the difficulties of love and about what it means to be a family.  Eva and Kat live a happy life on a houseboat in London until one of them makes an ultimatum that she wants a baby. They soon toy with the idea of one of their male friends helping them to make the baby.

Another documentary to watch this year is MR. GAY SYRIA.  Two Syrian refugees pursue their dream of competing in a gay beauty competition while wrestling with being gay in a Muslim world.

METHOD is one of two South Korean features being shown at the festival this year.  In it, a veteran actor stars along with a k-pop idol in a play. In the play they are starring in, their characters become involved in a relationship but as they are rehearsing, the line between reality and fiction starts to blur.

HARD PAINT, which on the Teddy Award at this year’s Berlin Film Festival, is a Brazilian drama that focuses on a performer named Pedro who works on gay-oriented video chat sites.  The trademark to his performance is when he smears neon paint all over himself but he soon learns that someone is copying him.

31 shorts will be playing during the festival in five separate programs.  One popular program in its 3rd year of being part of the festival is the Asia Pacific Queer Film Festival Alliance Shorts program.  This program showcases short films from around the Asia Pacific region. This year will include films from Tonga, Malaysia, South Korea and China.  The festival will also have a program showcasing French short films called Le French Gay. Included in this program is the newest short from Yann Gonzalez called ISLANDS.
See you all at the cinema.

Post Your Thoughts