愛HE革命 -健康商 Gay

原來靜觀(mindfulness)在member(男同志)間都有市場、有需求的。

今年二月份時,在這裡分享過在member圈內推廣靜觀的諗法。雖然帶著一些擔憂,但在「試咗唔駛死」同「當係了咗自己一個心願」的心態下,將理想變成了行動。

六個多月內以」HEvolution」這名義舉辦了16次活動,結果反應是出乎意料的好- 114member參加過,出席人次達244

綜觀參加者的分享,有以下幾種驅使他們參加的原因:

  1. 原來有些member一直都有靜觀或作其他身心靈練習,只是未曾參與過純member的聚會
  2. 生活遇上壓力或不如意,期望得到舒緩
  3. 對那些練習,如冥想、瑜伽、禪畫或按摩有興趣
  4. 好奇;好奇甚麼是靜觀、好奇這個團體在攪甚麼、好奇有乜其他member會參加…….

5. 覺得我們跟其他member活動不同,「靜態啲」、「健康啲」、「心靈 啲」……

活動要進入另一階段了— 要持續甚至深化有關活動以推廣member間的身心社靈全面健康的行動(註)。經驗告訴我,要達到這目,長遠就要跳出現時非政府服務機構(NGO)一般經營模式。

現時政府最大筆錢批予男同志健康就是「愛滋」,近期多了「禁毒」;這些都是從「(醫學)問題」出發,而不是從「同志生活」角度去回應各種健康上的需要。再者,從大賣「慈善」性質而得到捐款,不穩定之餘,背後亦要花很多人力物力經營。仲有……(下刪N字)

HEvolution需要搵到資金上的自主性與持續性。其中一方法就是發展成「社企」,搵到一個「市場」可以賺到錢,支持人力物力外,用盈餘發展男同志的全面健康服務

下一階段將會嘗試另一資金運營模式- 將人力物力納入成本內(現時的活動帶領人及我個人統籌)皆是義務,看看賺取盈餘的潛入有多大。

稍後,活動的收費仍然會要求參加者按個能力支付活動費用;與此同時,每一節活動扣除場租外,餘款會按比例分三份予服務發展、活動帶領人及統籌。雖然「好想搵錢」,但亦不會改為定額收費而令有人因此而卻步,你的20元與他的20元對個人所佔的份量可以大大不同。

時常有參加者問我在不設定額收費情況下其實應該俾幾多錢;之前我也不懂回答,心梗係想佢俾多些,同時又不想給予他們太大壓力。而家我會咁答:「如果你參加咗之後,覺得我哋係真係回應到你嘅需要,想我哋攪落去,咁就喺你能力範圍內,俾得愈多愈好。」

HEvolution是一個共同推展的行動。這數個月,參加過活動的朋友都有好正面的回饋,提供到一個另類氛圍予member關顧自己的身心社靈及彼此聯繫。要這空間得以延續及再擴大,就需要大家的「投資」。

對於HEvolution,參加者是「消費者」,亦是「合夥投資人」,讓這個空間得以延續及擴大。

如果你對盤「生意」有興趣 (資金或技術支援),聯絡我。

HEvolution
www.hevolution.hk
Facebook: www.facebook.com/hevolutionhk
Line: hevolution


2000年入行, 為第一、二代的男同志愛滋病預防工作者。時常提醒自己不要成為界別內的「老 Seafood, 需要時常更新思維上的軟硬件。曾出走到外地生活。2015年帶著仍然熱燙的一團老火回歸, 矢志要在本地推動多方位的手法關注男同志的全面健康。現正積極物色同路盟友在Member 圈內進行 HEvolution (Health for him)

 

註:身心社靈內的「社」是指社交/社會上的健康(social well-being),與其他人及週遭環境的關係。

Post Your Thoughts

Queer Money for Gay’s Health

There is an unmet demand for mindfulness among gay men.

Back in February this year, I proposed the plan to promote mindfulness within the gay community. Despite anticipated barriers, I decided to proceed with a test trial.

In the recent six months, sixteen mindfulness sessions were organized under the name of “HEvolution.” Out of my expectation, the response was extremely well- 114 gay men joined with 244 attendances.

Overall, there were a few reasons for the gay men’s participation:

  1. Some gay men had already been doing mindfulness or other spiritual practices, but had never attended any in a gay specific context.
  1. They wanted to find a holistic way to deal with the stressors encountered in everyday living.
  1. They were interested in the exercises, i.e. meditation, yoga, zentangle and massage.
  1. They were curious about mindfulness, HEvolution and who would attend.
  1. They felt that our sessions were “quieter,” “healthier,” and “more spiritual,” as compared to other usual gay activities.

Our sessions are moving towards another stage of development- to sustain the sessions and maximize the impacts on gay men’s physical, mental, social and spiritual well-being. My experience informed me that the holistic health promotion requires a new financial model different from existing NGOs’.

These days, most public fundings for gay men’s health go into HIV prevention and care with a recent increase in drug abuse issues. The focus is so narrowly medically problem-oriented that an array of health needs in gay men’s lives have been neglected. Aside from the instability of donations to charities, soliciting donors are costly in both time investment and manpower.

HEvolution is striving for its financial autonomy and sustainability – establishing itself into a social enterprise that can generate revenues to cover expenses and to develop services for gay men’s health.

Our next stage will test more the potential in creating revenues. Different from the first stage in which all the manpower in coordination and guiding the sessions were voluntary, the human costs will also be budgeted in. While participants will still pay what they can afford to, the surplus of each session, after cost, will be divided into three portions: service development, the individual who guides the session, and the individual who coordinates. We insist on “pay as you can” so that nobody will be turned away solely for lack of money.

“Pay as you can” is a pretty new concept to people in Hong Kong, and I am always asked by participants about how much they are supposed to pay. I used to not know how to answer myself as well. Of course, more money is certainly welcome; however, I do not want to give them too much pressure.

With a clearer vision now, I would now say, “Just come join us, if the experience tells you that our activities interest you and it is a space you treasure, pay as much as you can within your own capacity.”

HEvolution is community driven initiatives by all of us. The activities have been well-received with lots of positive feedback. The participants show appreciation for an alternative space where they can take good care of their own well-being while sincerely connecting with other gay men. To sustain and even expand this space, we all need to develop ownership it.

To HEvolution, the participants are not only “customers,” but also “investing partner” to co-create this space.

If you want to be part of this “enterprise,” come join us. Financial and technical supports are both welcome.

HEvolution
www.hevolution.hk
Facebook: www.facebook.com/hevolutionhk
Line: hevolution

Chung

The first one or two generation of Hong Kong AIDS worker for gay men started in 2000. Always being mindful of himself not becoming an “old fart” in the field, and keeps updating both his hard- and softwares in thinking. He lived overseas in the latest few years and returned in 2015 with an aspiration to promote a more progressive approach for gay men’s holistic health. Actively looking for allies who share the same vision for HEvolution (HEalth for him).

Post Your Thoughts