今年 Clockenflap 音樂及藝術節的酷兒和盟友音樂人

2016年的Clockenflap將會由11月25日至27日在中環海濱舉行, 今年的表演嘉賓包括本地小型音樂單位,以至國際流行音樂人,還有不少來自世界各地的酷兒及盟友。以下為你介紹今年我們推介的五個音樂單位。

clockenflap-2015-chris-lusher1

Shura
Shura 是新一代最傑出的年輕同志音樂藝人。她的曲風混合了流行上口音樂,深受80年代流行曲及節奏怨曲影響,她的音樂表達了同志青年成長時所面對的焦慮。 她的音樂生涯由睡房一個流行音樂計劃開始,Shura 表明流行音樂缺乏女同志聲音,並且當代流行音樂充滿過分自信及自我表現的題材,促使她進一步去創作音樂。她說:「當今流行音樂並不能代表 我,所以我要創作自己的音樂」。像許多其他年輕的 LGBT 藝人一樣,她避免把她的性取向政治化,期望透過音樂的代表性,讓同志議題在社會內進一步正常化。她期待有朝一日:「或許有人看過我的MV, 可以勇敢出櫃」。

Blood Orange
Blood Orange 是英國音樂家 Devonte Hynes 的實驗性 R&B 項目。 雖然他不認為自己是男同志或酷兒,但 Hynes 的音樂確實表現 80年代紐約同志舞廳次文化及性別流動性有着深遠的影響。就像音樂人 Frank Ocean 的 大碟 Channel Orange 及 Blond 一樣Hynes 的專輯以黑人身份、男子氣概及酷兒作主題。2011年的專輯 Coastal Grooves 中似乎有很多由男性角度出發的情歌。指明有意地演繹聖最新單曲 Augustine透過酷兒角度去探索歌詞 ”Skin on his skin/A warmth that I can feel with him”。Hynes 將會在 Clockenflap 宣傳他的最新專輯 Freetown Sound。這隻大碟是關於個人困境、政治及抗議美國種族主義警察暴行的黑人運動lack Lives Matter的。

Sigur Ros/Jonsi
冰島環境音樂重型樂隊 Sigur Ros 的主音及吉他手 Jonsi 已公開出櫃。他和他的樂隊將會在香港首次現場,Jonsi 在冰島的一個小村莊長大,這表現了一個出身於小村莊的同志與世界疏離的感覺。他傾向環境音樂、內省及封閉的歌詞,透過疏遠及孤獨的想法,他開始以創作音樂作為他的自我防衛機制。他說:「回想過去,可能我不想去面對自己身份的緣故,我集中創作,我想這對我的音樂真的很好,我就是這樣處理我的同志身份」。經過這些艱難日子,Jonsi 終於得到成功、接納及愛,Jonsi 和他的男朋友A lex Somers 經常一起創作並發放音樂,他們各自都是對方的靈感源泉。Jonsi 和 Sigur Ros 將在 Clockenflap 星期五晚上演出。

盧凱彤
香港創作歌手盧凱彤今年在 Pink Do t與 LGBT 藝人及同運人仕黃耀明及何韻詩同台演出。她是Clockenflap 2016 香港最突出的歌手,自2013年提出 LGBT 意識運動《All4love 》後,盧凱彤對香港同志平權一直堅定地發聲支持,約定你星期五晚 Clockenflap 的 Harbourflap 舞台見!

Pumarosa
由五位年輕人組成的 Pumarosa,主音及結他手 Isabel Munoz-Newsome 寫了最新單曲 Cecile,是關於性,慾望和渴望。當她被問到這首歌的靈感來源時,她說以往的關係有男亦有女,她的性向會改變。她說:「我不覺得你應該特別指明任何東西」、「這是關於那種微妙的神話,你極度渴望,但卻永遠得不到」。

他們是一隊現場表演很活潑及刺激的樂隊,無疑是受崩音樂文化偶像 Iggy Pop 及 Patti Smith 影響。星期六晚在 Clockenflap 的 KEF 舞台上見!

文字: Lee Phillips,翻譯: Joe Lam

Post Your Thoughts

Queer and Ally artists to watch at this year’s Clockenflap Festival

A myriad of queer and ally artists are performing at 2016’s Clockenflap festival, coming from all over the world to perform overlooking the Central Harbourfront from November 25th – 27th. From smaller local acts to popular international headliners, check out the queer artists featured this year!

clockenflap-2015-chris-lusher1

Shura
Shura is one of the most prominent young queer artists of the new generation – mixing catchy, 80’s pop influenced electronic music with contemporary R&B production, her music reflects the anxieties related with growing up through a distinctively queer lens. First starting her career as a bedroom-pop project, Shura has stated that the lack of queer female voices in pop circles, and the overly confident, exhibitionist themes permeating today’s pop songs had inspired her to write, stating ‘Pop music doesn’t represent me. And that’s why I made my own.” Like many other younger LGBT artists, Shura refrains from politicizing her sexuality and instead strives to let it emerge organically through her music, in hopes that increased representation will lead to further normalization within society, explaining hopefully that ‘Maybe someone will watch my videos and think “I can come out.”’.

Essential Tracks: Touch, Make it Up, Nothing’s Real

Blood Orange
Blood Orange is the experimental R&B project of British musician Devonte Hynes. Although he doesn’t identify as gay or queer, Hynes’ music is greatly influenced by New York’s exuberant 80’s gay ballroom sub-culture and the sexual and gender fluidity that it represented. Much like Frank Ocean’s Channel Orange and Blond, Hynes’ albums deal with notions of black identity, masculinity and queer issues, with many love songs in 2011 album Coastal Grooves seemingly about a male subject matter. On the more recent track ‘Augustine’, he stated that he intentionally interpreted St. Augustine’s writings through a queer lens as a form of exploration in the lyrics ‘Skin on his skin/A warmth that I can feel with him. Hynes will be at clockenflap promoting his latest album Freetown Sound, influenced by personal struggles as well as the politics and activism of the Black Lives Matter movement protesting racially-driven police brutality in the United States.

Essential tracks: Best to You, Augustine, You’re Not Good Enough

Sigur Ros/Jonsi
Ambient Icelandic powerhouse Sigur Ros’ lead singer and guitarist, the openly gay Jonsi, will be performing at Clockenflap with the rest of his band for the first time later this month. Jonsi, who grew up in a small village in Iceland, says that much of his leanings towards ambient music and introspective and introverted lyrics were influenced by the feelings of alienation that came from being queer in a small, conservative environment. Through the thoughts of estrangement and isolation, he began to create music as a coping mechanism, stating: ‘Looking back, I think it was really good for my music because I didn’t want to deal with it, so I focused on creating things. That’s how I handled being gay.” Through these difficult times, however, Jonsi has found success, acceptance and love: Jonsi and his longtime boyfriend, Alex Somers, frequently write and release music together, both serving as sources of inspiration for the other. Jonsi and Sigur Ros will be performing on Friday night at Clockenflap.

Essential Tracks: Oveour, Hoppipolla

Ellen Loo
Hong Kong singer-songwriter Ellen Loo, who performed alongside LGBT artists and activists Anthony Wong and Denise Ho at this year’s Pink Dot festival, will be one of Hong Kong’s most prominent artists performing at Clockenflap 2016. Loo has been a staunch and outspoken supporter of LGBT issues and rights in Hong Kong, posing for various awareness raising campaigns like 2013’s All4love alongside public appearances at LGBT events around the city. Catch her set Friday night at the Harbourflap stage!

Pumarosa
Young London five-piece experimental pop group Pumarosa singer/guitarist Isabel Munoz-Newsome penned new single, Cecile, about sex, desire and longing. When asked about inspirations behind the song, she cited her relationships were both men and women, and her decisively fluid sexuality – “I don’t think you have to be specifically anything,” says Isabel. “It’s about that slightly mythical other that you’re desperately desiring, and can’t quite reach.

They’re a lively, exciting band to watch live, undoubtedly due to their influences, which include punk icons Iggy Pop and Patti Smith. Catch them Saturday night at the KEF stage!

Essential Tracks: Priestess, Cecile

Words by Lee Phillips

Post Your Thoughts