瑪格麗特‧曹

自從我們看過她的棟篤笑喜劇 I’M THE ONE THAT I WANT 後,便他媽的愛上她。愛上的是她的前衛、聰穎、自以為是和令人會心微笑的粗鄙。由於她形象百變,不僅是知名的棟篤笑演員,還是一名激進人士、歌手和戲劇演員,所以她總受同志社群愛戴。她就是瑪格麗特‧曹 (Margaret Cho)。她終於帶着她的棟篤笑

這位不論去到全球每一個角落,演出都賣到滿堂紅的美藉韓裔喜劇演員,除了是同志平權的擁護者外,還經常發表出位言論挑戰權威,例如她批評過新加坡的同性性交法案、城市豐收教會牧師欺詐案(並稱呼該教會牧師康希傻屄),就連新加坡禁止吃口香糖的法案也不放過。

「點心」很榮幸有機會在瑪格麗特‧曹的兩場香港演出前訪問她。我們密切期待她對香港的言論和她在演出中會提到什麼話題。

點心: 你的同志粉絲知道你終於到訪香港而感到興奮。你對香港之行抱什麼期望?
曹: 我真的很期待見到大家,去所有和張國榮有關的景點朝聖,吃所有美味的食物,並且享受這個一直只能從香港電影中看見我夢寐以求的地方。

點心: 你在香港的演出將會有什麼限制嗎?
曹: 没有!作為一個書商的女兒,我對於大型教派和魚蛋革命有深刻的研究。因此,我對香港的現況可謂是百感交集。

點心: 在香港,同志仍然可以合法地被歧視,而且我們並未有真正的平權。作為一個激進分子,你有什麼忠告給香港的同志社群?
曹: 那要確保福音派基督組織並没有和政府有任何瓜葛。很多時候,這種社會保守主義來自美國,並且對於石牆事件後的社會進步來說是一種毒害和倒退。我會勸大家要堅強忍耐、不要盲從附和恐同者,要用社交媒體去戰勝無知,永不言倦!

點心: 你的工作範圍甚廣,由棟篤笑至激進主義,再到演戲,還有什麼你是未曾嘗試過的?
曹: 我想嘗試煮菜!我是一個老饕、廚神和美食家!正!

點心:你最近接任瓊‧瑞佛斯 (Joan Rivers)成為時尚警察的主持人,感覺如何?
曹: 我喜愛瓊,能上她的節目感覺非常良好。時尚警察是她喜愛的欄目,能代替她成為主持人是我的榮幸。我永遠取代不了她,但我會盡力做好這個節目不辜負她的心血。我正在時裝界發古人之憂思呢!

Post Your Thoughts

Margaret Cho

We fucking love her and we have ever since we saw her in her stand-up comedy film I’M THE ONE THAT I WANT. She is progressive, thoughtful, brash, and delightfully abrasive. Loved by the gay community throughout her career, a career that has not only included stand-up comedy but also activist, singer, and actress. She is Margaret Cho and she is finally coming to Hong Kong for the first time a part of her PsyCHO Tour.

The Korean-American comedian who has played to sold-out shows around the world and who is a very big advocate for LGBT rights, is here right of the heels from going to Singapore where she took on everything from Singapore’s gay sex laws, their megachurches (calling the megachurch pastor Lawrence Khong a ‘cunt’), and even their chewing gum laws.

DIM SUM Magazine had the chance to ask Margaret Cho a few questions before her two upcoming shows in Hong Kong. We are very much looking forward to what she has to say about Hong Kong and what subjects she will take on in her shows.

DIM SUM: Your LGBT fans are very excited that you are finally coming to Hong Kong. What are you most looking forward to on your visit to Hong Kong? 
Cho: I’m really looking forward to seeing and meeting everyone, to do a pilgrimage to all the Leslie Cheung sites, eat all the delicious food and enjoy a place I’ve only dreamt about after many years of watching and loving Hong Kong films!

DIM SUM: Is there going to be anything that is off limits in your shows in Hong Kong? 
Cho: No! I’m doing lots of research about the megachurches, the Fishball Revolution – as the daughter of booksellers, I’ve got a lot of emotion invested in the current situation in Hong Kong.

DIM SUM:  Here in Hong Kong, gays can still legally be discriminated against and we still do not have full equality. As an activist, what advice would you give to the LGBT community of Hong Kong? 
Cho: It’s about making sure the evangelist ‘Christian’ groups do not have any traction with the government. Much of this social conservatism comes from the US and it’s toxic and detrimental to the advances we have made as a community since Stonewall. I’d say stay strong, do not accept bigotry and homophobia on any level, use social media to fight ignorance, never stop!

DIM SUM: You have done everything from stand-up to activism to acting, is there anything that you have not done in your career that you would like to do?
Cho: I’d like to cook! I’m a big foodie, chef and gastronomic tourist! Yum!

DIM SUM: You recently became a co-host of the show Fashion Police, a hosting job that was once held by Joan Rivers. How did it feel to take on that job of hosting the show?
Cho: I loved Joan, and it feels good to be on her show. Fashion Police was her favorite project and it’s an honor to try to fill her tiny shoes. I can never replace her, but I can do a decent job of honoring her memory. I’m bringing ancestor worship to the world of fashion snark!

by Russell Boaz

Post Your Thoughts