馬來西亞政府推廣歧視

馬來西亞政府正在進行影像拍攝比賽,勝出者者可獲得4000馬幤(7300港元)。比賽引起了LGBT 社群和及社運人仕憤怒。由衛生部發起的影像拍攝比賽目票是紿13-24歲青年人觀看,獎金將會給拍攝探討"性別障礙"預防,控制,後果,問題及怎樣獲得幫助的方法。根據比賽的指引,LGBT 社群 是"性別障礙"的例子。

衛生署副局長 Lokman Hakim Sulaiman 表示影像拍攝比賽純粹是為了吸收青少年對生殖健康及有關的知識和創造力,不打算對任何特定群體造成歧視。

就在馬來西亞邊境的泰國,政府正在考慮恢復同志權利法案。在台灣宣佈同性戀婚姻合法化後,這,令泰國跟隨法案加快速度。 6萬人以審查該法案在 Change.org 上簽署了請願書。該法案自2013年以來一直擱置,賦予同性戀婚姻權支付婚權及為LGBT人士提供其他福利。保護權利和自由部局長正在推動法案盡快得到批准。

Post Your Thoughts

Malaysian Government Promotes Discrimination

The Malaysian government is having a video contest where winners can receive up to 4000 ringgit ($7300 HKD).   The contest is sparking outrage from the LGBT community and activist.  The video contest for 13-24 year olds, launched by the health ministry, is going to give the money to the video that best tackles “gender confusion”, explores prevention, control, consequences, issues and also ways to get to get help.  According to the guidelines of the competition, the LGBT communities are examples of people who suffer from “gender confusion.”

Deputy Director-General of Health Lokman Hakim Sulaiman has said the video contest “is to purely to tap knowledge and creativity of adolescents on sexual reproductive health related matters and does not intend to create discrimination to any particular group.”

Just across the border in Thailand though, the government there is considering reviving its gay rights bill.  After Taiwan legalized gay marriage, calls to follow suit in Thailand are picking up speed.  60,000 people signed a petition on Change.org to get the bill reviewed.  The bill, which has been on hold since 2013, would back marriage rights for same sex couples and other benefits for LGBT people.  The director-general of the Rights and Liberties Protection Department is pushing for the bill to get approved as soon as possible.

Post Your Thoughts