我們來談談《翠絲》

《翠絲》是一個叫大雄的父親的故事。表面看,他有妻子和一子一女,有穩定的生意,生活又正常不過;內裡,他卻有一個埋藏已久的秘密。一天,他接到一通電話,對方告訴他他朋友阿正已經過身。得知阿正死後,大雄決定在正的同性丈夫邦和舊同事前輩打鈴哥的協助下,開始慢慢揭示他的真實身份。隨著秘密漸漸公開,他的家人和朋友又會否接受他這樣真實的一面呢?

導演李駿碩在接受訪問時表示,這個項目來又如風一樣落到他手中,卻也是理所當然的。開拍此首部劇情長片之前,李氏是一名主修新聞傳理和性別研究專業的學生。唸新聞時,他寫了2013年變性人W小姐的故事,更採討了社群的二三事。「我拜訪了不同的人和支援小組,名正言順是第一次與社群建立聯繫。多年來,我們一直保持接觸;到我讀性別研究時,聯繫就更多。一天,舒琪老師拿著這個項目問我是否熟悉 LGBT議 題,我們馬上就一拍即合。」李氏不僅有性別研究的背景,而且還贏得了鮮浪潮比賽。「我贏得了鮮浪潮短片競賽,那正是舒琪老師認識我的時候。他邀請我茶聚,並邀請我加入這個項目。我做過的短片是關於性工作者的;當我匯報我的項目時,在性的層面是很正面的。通過電影,你會感覺到我的存在。」

雖然這部電影在談論LGBT社群議題方面穩打穩紥,但其實極具張力,而且也是香港首批具備變性人角色的港產電影。導演和製片人其實想透過這部電影表達一個使命。李氏說:「我們希望對社群沒有多大了解及從來沒有遇到過性少數人士的觀眾,能夠對社群予以了解和認同。」

《翠絲》確實完成了其使命:你確實感受到大雄正在經歷的事情,又會就他面對朋友和家人時的感思予以了解及感悟。

出演電影主角大雄/翠絲的是姜浩文,雖然他本人順性認同自己天生的性別,但電影組仝人均覺得他是角色合適人選。當被問到最近有很多關於順性演員扮演變性角色的爭議 (例如施嘉莉祖安遜最近因為在電影 RUB AND TUG 中扮演變性人而受到抨擊),李氏這樣回應說:「我不會對扮演性少數人士的演員不咬弦,因為都是為我作為導演身份所作的角色。我不會選擇一個會改變我電影內角色性質的演員,而即使我找直人出演我的角色,也不會改變那個角色的本質。為了跨性別角色而只找變性演員去演,本身就是對演員和導演的限制。」

文字:Russell Boaz,翻譯:Derek Leung

Post Your Thoughts

Let’s talk about Tracey

TRACEY is the story of a father named Tai-Hung who has a “normal” life.  He has a wife and two grown kids, has a stable business.  Internally though, Tai-Hung is holding a deep secret.  One days, he receives a phone call informing him that his friend, Ching, has died.  After he learns of Ching’s death, Tai-Hung begins to slowly reveal his true identity with the help of Ching’s spouse, Bond and an older friend who he used to work with.  But with the secret finally coming out in the open, will his family and friends accept him for who he really is.

While interviewing Jun Li, the director of the film TRACEY, he mentions that 如風(fate) was the reason why this project came into his hands and one can see why.  Before making his feature film directorial debut with TRACEY, he was a journalism and gender studies major.  While pursuing journalism, he wrote on the case of W in 2013 and reported on the community. “I went to different people and support groups.  That was when I first had my connection with the community.  And we stayed in contact throughout the years.  Then I did gender studies and made more connections.  When Kei Shu approached me with this project, he asked ‘Are you familiar with LGBT issues?’  So we hit it off right away with that meeting.”  Not only does he have a background in gender studies, but he won the Fresh Wave Hong Kong competition as well. “I won the short film competition called Fresh Wave Hong Kong and that is when Mr. Shu knew me.  He invited me to have tea with him and then he invited to be on board with this project.  The short film I did was about sex workers and when I presented my project, it was a very sex positive.  You feel who I am through the film. “

While the film does play it safe in presenting the story in queer cinema terms, it still is powerful film and one of the first and one of the first in Hong Kong to have a transgendered character in the lead role. Jun Li and the producers had a mission with this film.  Jun says,“ We want the audience to sympathize or identify by anyone who has does not have any knowledge of our community.  Who have never in their life encountered someone who is a sexual minority.”

TRACEY does accomplish it’s mission.  You do feel what Tai-Hung is going through, you do sympathize with him and feel the emotions when he comes to his friends and family.

Phillip Kueng, a cisgender actor, plays the lead of Tai-Hung/Tracey and it is a role that feels like he was meant to play.  There has been a lot of controversy lately about cisgendered actors being cast as transgendered roles (Scarlet Johansson most recently got flacked for being cast as a transgendered man in the film RUB AND TUG).  When asked about this, Jun had this to say, “I don’t have a problem with actors who play sexual minorities.  It’s about the characters for me as a director.  I would not choose an actor or actress who would change the nature of my characters and to cast a straight person, I don’t change the nature of that character.   To restrict ourselves for transgender characters to be limited to transgendered actors, it is itself a restriction for the actors and the directors.”

TRACEY will be released in Hong Kong cinemas on November 22.

Words: Russell Boaz

Post Your Thoughts