詹姆斯奧貝格費爾

詹姆斯奧貝格費爾的名字從今開始永遠是美國甚至全球同志婚姻歷史偉人的代名詞。就是他的名字,為美國最高法院判決同性婚姻是否合法的這件具里程碑意義的案件締造了前所未有的歷史。究竟,誰是詹姆斯奧貝格費爾? 他的名字又為什麼在最高法院的案件中出現?

23年前的俄亥俄州,詹姆斯奧貝格費爾邂逅了約翰亞瑟,二人從此形影不離。他們共沐愛河,並一起與朋友和家人住在辛辛那提20年。 2011年,約翰被診斷出患有一種叫肌萎縮性脊髓側索硬化症 (漸凍人症) 的疾病,藥石無靈,2013年開始終日臥病在床

2013626日,當美國與溫莎的訴訟判決公布之後,那件宣稱「維護婚姻法」的最高法院案件被裁定違憲,遂要求聯邦政府承認同性婚姻。那時,詹姆斯突然舉問,提出與其同伴結婚。在眾多親朋好友捐贈13000美元的幫助下,詹姆斯和約翰能夠坐上醫療用飛機,飛往承認同性婚姻的馬里蘭州巴爾的摩市,直接於當地機場的停機坪結婚。當他們回到俄亥俄州,他們很快發現約翰去世後的死亡證明並不會把詹姆斯列明為他的配偶,也就是說他們一起20年的伴侶身份將不被認可。他們在馬里蘭州結婚三個月後,約翰不幸離世,而馬里蘭州也拒絕把詹姆斯的名字寫在約翰死亡證書的配偶欄上。正是因為這一點,他們決定起訴俄亥俄州並不承認他們的婚姻。案件首先由區域法院審理,並認同該案屬於歧視。隨後,政府提出上訴,事情輾轉到了上訴法院,該院則認為禁制婚姻合憲。詹姆斯於是向美國法制最高級別的最高法院上訴。碰巧當時還有很多其他同性婚姻的訴訟案件同時申請進行聆訊,但由於詹姆斯奧貝格費爾的案件號碼最小,所以其案件較其他人的早聆訊審理。2015626日,則「維護婚姻法」被擊倒的兩年後,詹姆斯的案件最終獲裁決為5票贊成4票反對的勝訴,大多數的最高法院法官均站在詹姆斯奧貝格費爾旁邊,為全美50個州禁制同性婚姻乃非法之事實贏了漂亮的一仗。

現在,詹姆斯奧貝格費爾已成為同志平權的指標與英雄。如今,法院已作出最後判決,詹姆斯於是計劃利用自己的時間,為同志爭取更多平權而努力。有些國家現在利用宗教自由為藉口,阻止同性婚姻;此外,美國一些州份也可能會因同志結婚成為伴侶而翌日將之解僱。儘管最高法院的決定朝著平等邁出一大步,但在美國和世界各地依然有無數活動為平等權利而不斷努力抗爭。

文字 : Russell Boaz, 中文翻譯 : Derek Leung

Post Your Thoughts

James Obergefell

James Obergefell’s name will now forever be synonymous with gay marriage history in the United States and around the world. It is his name that was on the historic, landmark case that took place in the Supreme Court to determine if gay marriage would be legal in the USA. But who is James Obergefell and why was it his name that is on the Supreme Court case?

Twenty-three years ago in the state of Ohio, James Obergefell met John Arthur and the two became inseparable.   They fell in love and lived together in Cincinnati with friends and family for twenty years. In 2011, John was diagnosed with Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS), a disease with no known cure, and was soon confined to a hospital bed in 2013.

On June 26, 2013, when the United States vs. Windsor decision was announced, the Supreme Court case that declared DOMA (the Defense of Marriage Act) was unconstitutional and required the federal government to recognize same-sex marriages, James popped the question and asked his partner to marry him. With the help of many friends and family donating a total of $13,000 USD, James and John were able to fly in a medical plane and get married in Baltimore, Maryland (a state that does recognize same-sex marriage) on the airport tarmac. When they returned to Ohio, they soon found out that when John died, on his death certificate, James would not be listed as his spouse. Their twenty years together as a couple would not be recognized. Three months after their wedding in Maryland, John died and the state refused to put James’ name on his death certificate. It was because of this that they decided to sue the state of Ohio to recognize their marriage. It went to the district court first and it was agreed by the court that it was discrimination. The decision was appealed and then went to the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals, where it was agreed that the marriage ban was constitutional. James then appealed that decision and the court case then went to the Supreme Court (the highest court in the United States). There were many other court cases at the same time being petitioned to be heard by the Supreme Court for gay marriage so, since Obergefell drew the lowest case number, that put his name ahead of everyone else’s cases and the reason his case was heard. In the landmark 5-4 decision that came down on June 26, 2105 (on the two year anniversary of DOMA being struck down), the majority of Supreme Court justices sided with Obergefell and thus making the ban against gay marriage illegal in all 50 states.

Obergefell has now become an icon and a hero for gay rights. Now that the court’s decision has been made, Obergefell plans to use his time to fight for more equality. Some states are now using religious freedom as an excuse to stop gay marriage. Also, in some states in the United States, someone could get married to their partner and then be fired the next day for it. Even though the Supreme Court decision was a huge step towards equality, there is still so much to do in the fight for full equality in the USA and around the world.

Words by Russell Boaz, Photo by www.aclu.org

Post Your Thoughts