幽暗總有光明時

我以前是一個聰明、開朗、敏感的孩子,功課總是天衣無縫,甚至有點過份完美。那時的我也很有創意,更喜歡與女孩為伴,事緣她們與我同樣敏感。然而,人愈長大,愈意識到自己陽光的性格與周圍的男孩有所不同。我那時覺得他們並不接受當時的我,所以我打從十來歲開始,便壓抑內心對跳舞的那份熱愛。不久,我逐漸明白自己是同志,由此卻更進一步壓抑自己對舞蹈的那份熱情,原因是我知道跳舞會背叛我。我害怕身份暴露人前,而我那份甜美純真也瞬間變成了羞恥暗黑。

12歲那年,我第一次喝醉。啊呀!我愛死這種感覺!我十來歲那個黯淡世界的恐懼和羞恥得到了昇華,而我就是發現那一個瓶子裡的東西在我體內燃起什麼些火焰的東西。我那第一次的狂歡塑造了我一輩子在做的事。

對我來說,酒精起著一段時間的作用。我很絕情,甩掉了我討厭的朋友,逃脫了我怪異的形象。從那時開始,我身邊的都是最好的。我表現得很女性化,更吹噓我征服過的人。喝酒時,我腦中思維部份的不安、壓抑、恐懼和秘密都統統繞過了,直接敲進自己的「蜥蜴腦」 – 即我所有衝動和驅使所在的地方。喝了酒的我變得更高大威猛、更好看自信、更能討人喜歡。我的新角色遮掩了自己感到羞恥的一面。

在我心理發展的關鍵時刻生活得那麼不真實意味著我始終未能成熟蛻變成一個沉穩紥實的人。我與其他人有著相同的經歷:畢業、愛情、海外冒險、我第一份工作,甚至向朋友和家人出櫃。可是,我並不像其他人那樣與那些經歷一起成長。事實上,那每一個經歷都因為回憶而不斷遭蠶食,讓我感到畏縮。

當然,對大多數LGBTQI +人來說,出櫃往往是一個巨大的轉捩點。像很多其他人一樣,我放任地向所有人宣布我自豪與別人不同。然後,我就一股勁地跑到最近的同志酒吧找志同道合的人,找到酒精,找到了避難所。我當時並不知道也是因為酒精,讓這個我認為安全的地方一步一步殺死我。

每次經歷人生轉捩點的時候,我總是背棄承諾,兩袖清風,逃跑到別的地方重新開始。畢業後,我搬到了亞洲。這個舉動十分魯莽。我逃跑的直覺把我帶到了一個截然不同的文化,細想之下,始終是自己未夠成熟而處理的後果。我越不熟悉一個世界,便越感受到文化壓迫得越深越遠,我就像飛蛾撲般越沉淪酒田毒海之中。我的世界不斷萎縮,只能緊緊依靠像我這樣以同樣方式畏縮生活的人。

那個時候,喝酒在我身上起不了作用。羞恥已經回到身邊,並且因為身感分文不值而越加背負愧疚的重擔,我所作所為低下的速度比道德標準的來的快很多。我不明白自己為什麼天下間最不應該做的喝酒行為我還是做了!我無法理解為什麼我會再次在酒吧出現,別人白天走路上班,自己卻惺忪蹣跚回家。我無法理解為什麼我一次又一次地傷害那些愛我的人。為什麼我不能控制自己?對我來說,當時只有喝酒可以緩解我的痛楚。如是者,一個又一個循環不斷出現。

2014年,人生的危機霍然襲來。當嗜酒者慘遇危機,他或她唯一的選擇就是繼續喝酒。

現在,一連串奇蹟開始出現:(1) 宇宙派遣了一個從酗酒康復過來的人從黑暗的小巷中舀起我,把我帶到戒酒無名會。(2) 數天後,我生理和心理上對酒的渴求已經沒有。(3) 清醒時,我開始從眾多來自不同背景的酗酒者那裡所聽到的故事,慢慢認識自己。(4) 一種歸屬感來到自己身邊,彷彿被人道力量擁入懷中一樣。

四年前,我進入戒酒無名會,打破快要把我殺掉的飲酒循環魔咒。戒酒無名會對我很有幫助,也同樣幫助了數百萬人。如今,我幾乎不會想到要喝酒了。在那四年之後,我如常到戒酒無名會去,原因是我從一眾同伴身上學會如何生活一輩子。我從這個會得到了我在酒吧裡所尋找的一切。我覺得自己有價值、有用和與世界通上聯繫。我有自由做新的事情,也無畏無懼地的活出真生命,原因是這個會不會對任何人作出判決。同性戀的、雙性戀的、直的、年輕的、年長的、富有的、窮困的、亞洲的、西方的、印度的、非洲的…… 我們都是一樣。我們共同努力走上幸福的命運之路。

最重要的是,我一直去戒酒無名會是因為我在那裡遇到了一個我無條件地愛上的人:一個成熟、有同情心、正直不阿的人。毫無疑問,他的眼中閃爍著光芒,內心也充滿對跳舞的熱愛。那個人就是我。我是[…],一個很感恩,正在康復酗酒的人。

Post Your Thoughts

How the darkness of shame became the light of love

I was a bright, cheerful and sensitive child. My school work was immaculate and (a little too highly) illustrated. I was creative and preferred the company of girls because they were sensitive, too. But, as I grew older, I realised that my sunny disposition made me different from the boys around me. I felt that they would not accept me the way that I was, and so from my early teens, I suppressed the dancing spirit within me. In time, I came to understand that I was gay and I suppressed that dancing spirit still further because I knew that it would betray me. I lived in fear of being exposed and my sweet innocence turned into the darkness of shame.

At 12 years old, I got drunk for the first time. Oh, how I loved the effect! The fear and shame of my bleak teenage world lifted, and here, in a bottle, I’d found something which lit a flame within me. My first binge was to shape a lifetime’s behaviour.

Alcohol worked well, for a while. I callously dumped my nerdy friends and escaped my geeky image. I had the best parties. I womanised and I bragged about my conquests. You see, when I drank, I bypassed the thinking part of my brain with all its insecurities, inhibitions, fear and secrets, and I tapped directly into my ‘lizard brain’; the place where all my urges and drives resided. As I drank, I grew taller, stronger, better looking, more confident and more entertaining. My new persona grew to mask the person I was ashamed of being.

Living inauthentically at a crucial time in my psychological development meant that I never matured into a grounded human being. I experienced the same milestones as others: graduation, love, overseas adventures, my first job, and even eventually finding the courage to ‘come out’ to friends and family. However, I didn’t grow with those experiences as others do. In fact, because of alcohol, every one of those experiences is marred for me by memories which make me cringe now.

Coming out, of course, is often a huge milestone for most LGBTQI+ people. Like many others, I defiantly announced to everyone that I was, in fact, proudly different to them. Then, I scurried to the nearest gay bar to find people among whom I felt the same. In gay bars, I felt I had found a sanctuary and a sense of belonging. I didn’t know then that because of the alcohol, my safe place was also going to bring me to my knees.

It’s been a feature of my life that whenever life gets difficult or uncomfortable, I run away to start again somewhere else. After graduating, when I should have been looking for a good job, I ran to Asia to teach English for almost no money. I found myself in a drastically different culture at a time when I did not have the maturity to handle it. Instead of exploring and learning, I was drawn, like a moth to that flame, to the familiarity and the escape of alcohol and drugs.

My world shrunk and by this time, drinking had stopped being fun. Shame had returned, and burdened by a sense of worthlessness, my behaviour spiralled downwards faster than I could lower my moral standards. I could not understand why I drank even when it was the last thing on this earth that I wanted to do! I couldn’t understand why I was emerging again from a club, blinking in the daylight and staggering home as others walked to work. Why could I not control myself? For me, only another drink could sooth the pain.

In 2014, a life crisis hit. I won’t go into the details of what happened, but I my drinking meant that I was not able to handle it. I responded in the only way I knew how, and that was to drown myself in alcohol. I hit my ‘rock bottom’.

Now, here begins a series of miracles: (1) the universe sent a recovering alcoholic to scoop me up from the dark alleys and introduce me to a group of people who were also recovering alcoholics (2) within days, the obsession to drink and the physical cravings were lifted from me, as it had been from them (3) as my mind cleared, I began to recognise myself in the stories I heard from other alcoholics, irrespective of their background, and (4) a sense of belonging came over me, as if I’d been wrapped in the arms of humanity.

Four years ago, I came into a program of recovery to break the evil cycle of drinking that was killing me. It worked for me as it does for millions of others. I rarely think about drinking now. After these four years, I keep up with this program because there, among people just like me, I learn how to live life on life’s terms. I get from this program everything that I was looking for in the bars. I have grown to feel worthy, useful and connected. I have gained the freedom to do new things and the fearlessness to live authentically. Gay, Bi, straight, young, old, rich, poor, Asian, Western, Indian, African… on this program, I have learned how to live and love life free of alcohol.

And most of all, I keep up with this program because I’ve met someone there who I have come to love unconditionally: a mature and compassionate man, who lives life with integrity but who, without doubt, has a twinkle in his eye and a dancing spirit within him. That man is me. My name is […] and I’m a grateful, recovering alcoholic.

Words: […]

 

 

Post Your Thoughts