2017香港同志影展推介

作為亞洲其中一個歷史最悠久的同志電影展,《香港同志影展》28年來都積極為觀眾帶來全球最優秀的同志電影。今年影展播放的電影主題更是包羅萬象,不但有世界首播的香港電影,還有探討男士懷孕和採訪同志桑拿夜間清潔工的紀錄片,比以前搜羅更多的跨性別人士電影,以及來自法國、中國、台灣、菲律賓、加拿大、美國和其他不同國家的獲獎電影。我們當然推薦大家觀看所有電影,不過如果要作十大電影推介,以下便是我們的心水之選。

今年的兩套開幕電影是均來自法國的《花花女公子》和《心動120》。女同志開幕電影喜劇《花女公子》由 Océane Rose Marie 自編自導自演。(她會現身首影禮和開幕派對哦!)她親自飾演一個來自非典型瘋狂家庭並有一大堆前度女友,卻最終拜倒在靚女攝影師 Cecile 裙下的花花女公子 Oceanrosemarie。

由音樂人 Sting 的太太 Trudie Styler 執導的《校花爭霸戰》是今年兩套閉幕電影中的其中一套。貝蒂‧米勒飾演一位在康涅狄格州過慣奢侈生活直至被送往保守的南方小鎮與父親同住的男孩比利‧布魯姆的母親。雖然處身保守的南部,但比利依然我行我素,日日閃爆返學,受盡同學白眼,更被謔稱為回娘家皇后。這部電影由 Abigail Breslin 和 Laverne Cox 領衍主演。

迷失私駕是泰國多產同志導演 Thitipan Raksasat 繼兩集《鄰家男孩-唏唏呵呵》後,又一關於秘密和私情的泰性感新作。美女嘉德的丈夫,到韓國公幹後失蹤,令她非常擔心。其後,更發現她丈夫對她影響深遠的天大秘密。全體演員和劇組人員將出席九月廿二和廿三日的放映會。

如果你在這個電影節裏只選一套戲觀看的話,《割愛》一定是你的不二之選。這是和《月亮喜歡藍》同出一轍的南非電影,講述一個名為科拉尼的工人如何陪伴村裏的男孩踏進成人的旅程。部落的割禮是不容討論,甚至在電影中描畫的。導演 John Trengove 在他的劇情處男作中勇闖禁忌,挑戰南非性別傳統,展現出一場禁忌下的愛情故事。

由 Armistead Maupin 撰寫的小說《Tales Of the City》為人熟識,但對於這位作家我們又知道多少?《亞米斯德-未完小說》是一齣將 Armistead Maupin 出生於美國南部保守家庭至成為同志平權先驅和著名同志作家的生平以輕鬆幽默的手法娓娓道出的紀錄片。

來自冰島的《石沉心海》是部深入探討性傾向壓抑和兩個青春期男孩間的友誼的得奬作品。看畢這套電影,你就會明白它於威尼斯電影節贏得同志金獅獎絶對是實至名歸的。

從不欺場的短片系列,今年為你帶來六部不同主題的作品。《亞太同志電節聯盟短片》為你呈獻兩部全球首映的本地創作《暗房夜空》和《勃起之後》 (製作人將會出席放映會)。《國際紀錄短片》焦點當然是 Michael Glatze 和 Bennet (電影《我是米高>>的主角)幾年後重逢細說近況的紀錄片。除此之外,男男、女女同志短片,酷兒短片和跨女跨仔短片更是不容錯失。

由愛爾蘭導演 Darren Thornton 改編自其舞台劇作《10 Dates for Mad Mary》的<<瘋狂瑪利脱單記》講述「瘋狂女子」 Mary McArdle 出獄後,有異性無人性的摯友 Charlene 在與男友步入婚姻典堂之際,卻睇死作為伴娘的Mary屆時只能單身出席,不服輸的她於是四出物色新對象,想盡辦法要在婚禮前脫單的喜劇故事。

《再見十七歲》是導演 Monja Art 的首部劇情長片,描述奧地利小城鎮裏兩位妙齡女子的愛情故事。高中生 Paula 偷偷愛著已有男朋友的摯友 Charlotte, 奈何卻要面對兩難困境,應該選擇隨心而行向Charlotte表白,還是獨自承受暗戀之苦、把秘密留給自己‥‥‥

紀錄片《陽剛準媽媽》團隊貼身追蹤,與導演 Cyn Lubow 及另外六位同樣個性開朗又體貼的「陽剛型孕婦」一同打破各種傳統守舊的性別觀念,細膩地記錄他/她們由受孕、生產、哺乳、育兒其間,經歷到的各種喜悅、艱辛及心碎時刻,為觀眾揭開一部極私密的非典型懷孕日記並分享箇中的點點滴滴。

香港同志影展2015精選電影《亨利生日派對》的導演 Stephen Cone 今屆又載譽歸來,展示他的全新成長電影《公主成人禮》。十六歲的 Cyd 藉著去芝加哥阿姨家渡假的機會逃離鬱鬱寡歡的鰥夫父親。就在那兒,她愛上了一位鄰居女孩。

戲院見!

文字:Russell Boaz, 翻譯:QQ

Post Your Thoughts

2017 Hong Kong Lesbian & Gay Film Festival Highlights

For 28 years, the Hong Kong Lesbian and Gay Film Festival, one of the oldest LGBT film festivals in Asia, has been programming some of the best LGBT from around the world.  This year, this film offers a diverse array including world premieres of Hong Kong films, docs revolving around subjects from pregnant men to gay sauna janitors, more transgender films than ever before and award-winning films from France, China, Taiwan, The Philippines, Canada, USA and many other countries.  Of course, we recommend you watch all of them but if we had to choose ten, here is what our top ten would be.

The opening films this year are both from France, KISS ME! and 120 BEATS PER MINUTE.  For the lesbian opening film, KISS ME!, Océane Rose Marie wrote, directed and stars in the comedic film.  (She will be in attendance for the screening and at the opening party as well.)  She plays Oceanrosemarie, a woman navigating her crazy life of ex-girlfriends, crazy family members and falling for a beautiful photographer named Cecile.

FREAK SHOW, directed by Trudie Styler (wife of musician, Sting) is one of the two closing films for this year.  It stars Bette Midler as the mother of Billy Bloom, a boy living a fabulous life in Connecticut until he is sent to live with his father in the conservative South.  Even in the conservative south, he still is his fabulous self, fighting for the misunderstood in his new school and even running for the title of Homecoming Queen.  The film also stars Abigail Breslin and Laverne Cox.

DRIVER, a Thai film from the director of LOVE NEXT DOOR and it’s sequel, is all about secrets and what they can do to a relationship.  Kade is married to Tae, and after Tae disappears after a business trip to Korea, she discovers about her husband that will majorly affect her.  Cast and crew will be in attendance for the screenings on the September 22 and 23.

THE WOUND has to be one of the must see films of all of the film festival, if you have to see only one, watch this one.  A film from South Africa that is in the vein of MOONLIGHT, following the tale of a worker named Xolani who accompanies the boys of a village on a journey to an initiation into manhood.  It is a tribal ritual that is not supposed to be discussed or even depicted on film.  John Trengrove, in his feature film directorial debut, examines repressed sexuality and masculinity.

We all know the TALES OF THE CITY series of books written by Armistead Maupin, but do how much do we really know about the author?  THE UNTOLD STORIES OF ARMISTEAD MAUPIN is a documentary that looks at the author’s history, from his being born to a conservative family in the Southern USA to his life as a gay rights pioneer and leading LGBT author.

HEARTSTONE is an award-winning film from Iceland that looks at repressed sexuality and the friendship between two boys as they journey in life from boyhood to manhood.  The film won the Queer Lion Award at the Venice Film Festival and for good reason.

The short film programs never disappoint and this year, there are six different short films programs to watch, including the Asia Pacific Queer Film Festival Alliance Shorts programs that includes two new local films having their world premiere, LOSING SIGHT OF A LONGED PLACE and AFTER ERECTION (the filmmakers will be in attendance).  In the International Short Docs, included is a documentary on Michael Glatze and Bennet (the subjects of the film I AM MICHAEL) and meeting after years and discussing where they are now.  There are also Boys and Girls Shorts, Queer Shorts and a Transgender Shorts program.

 

An charming Irish dramedy, A DATE FOR MAD MARY revolves around newly released from prison Mary as she hunts down a wedding date for her best friend’s wedding after her friend refuses her a plus one because she said that Mary could not find a date anyway.  Director Darren Thornton adapted the film from the stage play “10 Dates for Mad Mary”.

SEVENTEEN is Monja Art’s feature film debut that deals with small town love in Austria between two teenage girls.  Paula is secretly in love with her best friend Charlotte and she must decide whether she should follow her feelings and tell Charlotte and keep them bottles inside.

A WOMB OF THEIR OWN is a documentary that gives on what it is like to be a pregnant trans man.  Cyn Lubow sits down with six masculine-identified people to discuss their pregnancies, their births and their chest feeding experiences.

Those that got to see the film HENRY GAMBLE’S BIRTHDAY PARTY at HKLGFF 2015 will have a chance to watch the director Stephen Cone’s new film, PRINCESS CYD, at this year’s festival.  16 year-old Cyd is visiting her aunt in Chicago over the summer to escape her depressive, single father.  It is there that she falls for a girl in her neighborhood.

See you at the theater.

Word: Russell Boaz

 

Post Your Thoughts