桃莉巴頓 (Dolly Parton)

桃莉曾說︰「他們(她的同志粉絲)知道我是完完全全的深愛和接受他們的,就像我愛所有人一樣。在我人生中,我飽經掙扎才得到別人的欣賞和認同。這些年,我要排除萬難才能做回自己。我相信每個人都應該擁有做自己想做的事和愛自己想愛的人的權利。我不認為我們需要批判別人。主啊,我自身的問題已經夠多的了,又哪裡來力氣評價別人呢?」

桃莉巴頓是個同志標誌。她擁有一大把頭髮、豐滿的乳房、大剌剌的個性和寬大的心,尤其之於她的同志歌迷更甚。她曾在一個訪談中說過她喜愛同志粉絲的原因是他們能接受她的一切,她亦會如此對待他們。她並非一個愛審判的人,所以是其中一個最早站出來爭取同志權益的鄉村音樂歌手。如斯舉動在當時的鄉村音樂界是一件並不符合規條的事,有些人更指控她是女同志,並且和她的朋友 Judy Ogle 發展地下情(她就這件事回應說,如果她真的是女同志,她會坦白出櫃。)桃莉衣著華麗奪目,鑲滿萊茵石,同時頭戴龐大假髮,是讓許多變裝皇后紛紛模仿她的其中一個原因。她曾說「慶幸我生出來就是個女的,不然我會成為一個變裝皇后。」

桃莉巴頓出身寒微,是一個生於美國田納西州大煙山邊遠落後地區的鄉村音樂歌手。桃莉在十二個兄弟姐妹中排行第四。音樂在她童年時扮演很重要的角色,她先在教堂表演,隨後開始在電台和電視中演出。後來她移居到那什維爾,並開始創作音樂。她的事業從那裡起步,自此如日方中。她原唱過很多膾炙人口的歌曲,包括 Jolene (卓琳) (我想這是她其中一首流行金曲)9 to 5 (95), Islands in the Stream (溪流中的島嶼) I Will Always Love You (我會永遠愛你) (她比惠妮休斯頓更早唱這首歌)等等。她不單只稱霸音樂界(她曾獲46項格林美獎提名,是與碧昂絲並駕齊驅成為獲得最多格萊美獎提名的女歌手),還涉足電影圈,例如出演南部戲劇(同志最愛的)鋼木蘭花、朝95和萊茵石,並為朝95和穿越美國寫曲,後來透過這兩部戲被提名奧斯卡金像獎。她亦在田納西州鴿子谷擁有屬於自己的主題樂園(試問有幾多歌手能擁有私人的主題樂園?)。在她68歲之齡,她還在作全球巡迴演唱、在電影擔綱演出,並灌錄唱片。雖然她的事業空前成功,但她仍舊保持謙遜。

每當她出現在銀幕或演唱會上,總會吸引眾人(尤其是她的同志粉絲的)注視的目光。她就像我們當中的大姨媽,在我們被家人離棄的時候仍然愛看我們、接受我們。她永遠都對我們不離不棄,為此我們會永遠深愛她。

文字 Words: Russell Boaz, 中文翻譯: QQ

Post Your Thoughts

Dolly Parton

Dolly on her gay fans- “They know that I completely love and accept them, as I do all people. I’ve struggled enough in my life to be appreciated and understood. I’ve had to go against all kinds of people through the years just to be myself. I think everybody should be allowed to be who they are, and to love who they love. I don’t think we should be judgmental. Lord, I’ve got enough problems of my own to pass judgment on somebody else.”

Dolly Parton is a gay icon. She has got big hair, big boobs, a big personality and a big heart, especially for her LGBT fans. She has said in interviews that the reason she loves her gay fans is that they accept for who she is and she does the same for them, she is not a judgmental person. She was one of the first country singers to stand up for gay rights at a time when doing that, especially in the world of country music, was not so kosher. Some have even made claims that she is a lesbian and in a secret relationship with her friend Judy Ogle (of which she responds that if she was really a lesbian, she would be running out of the closet). Dolly wears outfits that are over-the-top and full of rhinestones and puts on big wigs, one of the many reasons drag queens love to impersonate her. She even says “It’s a good thing I was born a girl, otherwise I would be a drag queen.”

Dolly Parton, the country singer who was born in the backwoods of the Tennessee Smokey Mountains in the United States, has come a long way since her humble beginnings. Dolly was the fourth of twelve children growing up in a poor household. Music played an important role in her early life, she performed in churches and would eventually begin performing on radio and television. She would eventually move to Nashville and begin writing songs and that is where her career started taking off and since then, it has not showed any signs of slowing down. She has many hit songs including “Jolene” (one of her greatest songs, I think), “9 to 5”, “Islands in the Stream” and “I Will Always Love You” (she sang it way before Whitney Houston did) to name a few. Not only did she conquer the music scene (she has been nominated for 46 Grammys, tying with Beyoncé for the most nominations by a female artist), she also did films as well, like acting the southern drama (and gay favorite) STEEL MAGNOLIAS, 9 TO 5, and RHINESTONE and writing songs for 9 TO 5 and TRANSAMERICA, both of which she was nominated for Academy Awards. She even has her own theme park in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee (how many singers have their own theme park?). At 68, she is still doing world tours and acting in films and putting out albums. But after all the success she has had, she has still remained very humble.

Every moment she is on screen or in concert, people are just drawn to her and especially her gay fans. She is like that favorite Aunt some of us have, the one that loves and accepts us when no one else in the family would. She has always continuously supported our community and for that, we will always love her.

by Russell Boaz

Post Your Thoughts