克來格羅德威爾 (Craig RodWell)

每年,全球數百城市都會以同志遊行慶祝同志驕傲日,其中當然少不了香港 (請在你的行事曆上記下11月8日這個大日子)。這些遊行全部自同志平權運動石牆暴動後一年,即1970年6月28日在紐約市舉行的驕傲遊行後開始,而其中一位為這次全球首個同志遊行揭開序幕的創始人就是克羅德威爾。

羅德威爾於1940年在芝加哥出生,並在一個基督教科學派家庭中成長。順理成章,他在基督教科學派學校上課,卻就在那裏首次偷嚐禁果。他所學習的基督教科學派教義讓他認識到「人類的尊嚴和做自己相信是對的事的重要性」,而他所參與的教會社區外展工作也奠定他日後走向同志平權運動的道路。

高中畢業後,他在波士頓短暫地學了一陣芭蕾舞,直至1958年移居到紐約市。那裡,他參與了很多同性戀權益組織,包括 Mattachine Society,並在1967年創辦鄰社同志青年運動 (HYMN)。在石牆暴動爆發前,他已積極投入同志運動,不但開展同志權益小組,還領導排除同志參軍的抗議活動,也就紐約把同志聚集在售酒地方定性為非法活動一事表達反對和發動靜坐。同時,他開始和年青的哈維米爾克交往,成為他第一段認真的關係。因為羅德威爾的緣故,米爾克認識了不少同志運動家;可惜,這段戀情最後亦宣布告終。

另外,羅德威爾在1967年石牆暴動前,開創了世界首家同志書局奧斯卡王爾德書店。店內,他拒絕放置任何色情刊物,只售賣他喜歡的同志作家的作品。

石牆暴動在1969年6月爆發,同年11月,羅德威爾和一班志同道合的伙伴在其住處構思第二年6月舉辦年度遊行紀念這場革命。他花了數月的時間周詳地籌劃整件事,例如寫信到各個同志組織和在其書店籌募經費,以及呼籲不同組織參加遊行,最後,全球第一個同志遊行終於在1970年6月28日正式誕生。隊伍由 Christopher Street 一直延伸至紐約市的中央公園,長度足以覆蓋51棟樓。自此,同志遊行如雨後春筍,在數年間陸續在不同城市冒起。

在羅德威爾所信仰的基督科學派裏,同志信徒必須被開除教籍,然而他依然一生努力為同志抗爭。1993年,他最終因胃癌與世長辭。時至今日,許多國家紛紛舉辦同志遊行。今天我們之所以有同志驕傲遊行,部份原因應歸功於羅德威爾鍥而不捨的精神與孜孜不倦的驚人毅力。

文字 Words: Russell Boaz, 中文翻譯: Derek Leung

Post Your Thoughts

Craig Rodwell

Born is Chicago in 1940, Rodwell grew up in a Christian Scientist home and attended Christian Scientist schools where he would have his first same sex experience. His Christian Scientist teachings taught him “the dignity of all human things and the importance of making things true by believing in them”. It was these teachings such as this and community outreach that would later influence his gay rights activism.

After graduating from High School, he briefly studied ballet in Boston before making the move New York City in 1958. In New York City, he became involved in many homophile rights organizations, including the Mattachine Society and the Homophile Youth Movement in Neighborhoods (HYMN), a group Rodwell began in 1967. This guy was doing so much even before the Stonewall Riots even happened. Not only was he starting gay rights groups, he was leading protests against the United States military for excluding gays from serving in the army and leading sit-ins to protest a rule about in New York that made it illegal for gays to congregate anywhere there was alcohol. It was also during this time that he began dating ayoung Harvey Milk, Rodwell’s first serious relationship and one that introduced Milk that there can be gay activists. They would later break up.

Rodwell also opened the countries first bookstore devoted to gay and lesbian authors called the Oscar Wilde Bookshop (in 1967, before Stonewall). At his bookshop, Rodwell refused to stock any porn on his shelves, only books by favorite gay and lesbian authors.

The Stonewall Riots happened in June of 1969 and in November of that year, Rodwell and a group of others got together at Rodwell’s apartment to begin discussing a parade held in June as an annual reminder of the riots. After months of planning, raising money writing to other gay organizations around the country and fundraising through the bookstore, and trying to get organizations to attend the parade, the first parade was finally held on June 28, 1970, covering 51 blocks. It went all the way from Christopher Street to Central Park in New York City. Soon, parades began popping up in many other cities over the years.

Rodwell would continue to be an activist later in his life, especially in his religion of Christian Scientists (members were excommunicated if they were gay). Rodwell lived until 1993, when he died of stomach cancer. Today, many countries hold Pride Parades and it was partly because of Rodwell’s activism that we have Pride Parades today.

by Russell Boaz

Post Your Thoughts