克里斯汀迪奧 (Christian Dior)

「我想人們當我是一個好工匠,更希望我的衣服像建築物一樣建構出來,因應女性的玲瓏曲線成型,為她們的體態打造時尚感覺。」

「最後,不管是否事與願違,所有曾經是我生命中一部分的都統統從我的衣服演繹出來。」

迪奧 (Dior) 時裝龍頭企業背後的名字。自1947年首個時裝秀後,他便在時裝界迅速冒起;然而他上台只有短短十年,我們於1957年便痛失了他。他是20世紀最重要的時裝設計師和女裝設計師 – 他的名字是克里斯汀迪奧…

迪奧出生於法國諾曼第海岸附近的格蘭維爾,有四兄弟姊妹,父親因經營化肥生產企業致富。5歲的時候,一家搬到巴黎,他正可在那裡的大街上賣畫賺取零用錢。唸書後,他接手經營一家小畫廊,可是1929年的經濟大蕭條令他的畫廊倒閉,於是師從時裝設計師羅伯特皮埃特,並為時尚雜誌畫插畫。1940年,他服役兩年,然後便為女裝設計師盧西安隆和羅伯特皮埃特工作。

1946年,他在巴黎蒙田大道30號開設第一家迪奧品牌店;1947年,他展示了首個有別於當時戰後衣著的設計 – 上圍更大、色調更鮮明、形象更靈活 – 目的是以全新的面貌為女性增添更大的魅惑,坦露戰爭前埋藏在衣衫底下的風韻。有關他新形象與設計的新聞廣泛傳開,訂單也從世界各地湧來,無論是影視明星或皇室成員都是他裙下之臣。迪奧對時尚界的影響在今天依然深遠,例如當年於20世紀40至50年代的新設計於70年後的今天仍然非常普及。

成功打造高級女裝設計後的一年,他已經在美國紐約市開店設計和售賣現成時裝,並因其姊姊命名迪奧小姐香水系列。截至1949年底,迪奧佔法國時裝出口的百分之七十五,甚至是法國總出口收入的百分之五。他去世時,迪奧的店每年更已帶來超過二千萬元的生意。

他的私人生活卻鮮為人知。他是衣櫃裡的同志,終生沒有結婚;與很多年輕男子有過關係,卻總不能維繫良久,最終失敗收場。他總喜歡與母性強的女人為伍,交往的也沒幾個知心朋友。他首個時裝秀後的十年,迪奧因心臟病發離世,終年52歲。當年,員工與其一眾客戶等2,500餘人都參加了他在法國舉行的葬禮。

文字 Words: Russell Boaz, 中文翻譯: QQ

Post Your Thoughts

Christian Dior

“I wanted to be considered a good craftsman. I wanted my dresses to be constructed like buildings, molded to the curves of the female form, stylizing its shape.”

“Finally, everything that has been part of my life, whether I wanted it to or not, has expressed itself in my dresses.”

He is the name behind the powerhouse of fashion that is the House of Dior. Showing his first fashion show in 1947, he rose to fashion power in such a short time before the world lost him ten years later in 1957. He was Christian Dior, one of the most important fashion designers and couturiers of the 20th century..

Born in Granville, France, near the coast of Normandy, he was one of five children whose father was a wealthy fertilizer manufacturer. At the age of five, his family moved to Paris. It was there, to earn extra money, he would sell his drawings on the street. After leaving school, he took over a small art gallery but during the Great Depression of 1929 lost his art gallery and went to work for fashion designer Robert Piguet and also drew for fashion magazines. In 1940, he went and fought in the war for two years and then afterwards began to work for couturier Lucien Long and Robert Pigue.

In 1946, at 30 Avenue Montaigne Paris, he founded the house of Dior and in 1947, the house presented their first looks, looks that were contrary to the post-war looks of the day. The busts were made bigger, they were not gloomy, the looks had no restrictions. With the new looks, he wanted to give women the art of seduction, unhide was what hidden under all the clothes before during the war. News travelled fast of the show and the looks and soon orders were pouring in from all over the world, from movie stars to royalty. Dior influence on the fashion world is felt even today. His new looks from the 1940s and 50s are still very popular today as they were 70 years ago.

The next year, following his success with haute couture clothes, he established a ready-to-wear house in New York City. He would also create a perfume, Miss Dior, named after his sister. At the end of 1949, Dior made up for 75% of France’s fashion exports and 5% of France’s total export revenue. (At the time of his death, the house of Dior was bringing in more than $20 million annualy.)

His private life, he kept very private. He was discreetly gay and never married. Dior would have many failed affairs with young men but no long term relationship He preferred the company of maternal women and hardly ever socialized with anyone outside a few friends. Ten years after his first show, Dior died at the age of 52 from a heart attack. More than 2,500 people, including his staff and many of his clients, attended his funeral in France.

Post Your Thoughts